The former naval prison — whose name comes from its distinctive shape — was originally built by architect Alexander Egorovich Shtaubert in 1830. The restoration and adaptation of the building for its new function took almost two years.
The team restored the brickwork in the interior and exterior façades, as well as in the space of the first floor and the two stairwells, whose stairs were returned to their original cladding of Putilov limestone, flanked by cast-iron railings. The building has gained two elegant, Art Deco-styled elevators, 228 wood-framed windows featuring old-fashioned bronze handles and 163 doors restored from original blueprints. The renovation of the shared corridors used 2,480 square meters of floor tiles, 4,348 square meters of glossy wall tiles, and 1,139 lighting fixtures. The courtyard has been studded with 40 outdoor bullet lights, made from black metal to original project and now features a small stage for events. The round courtyard now features the Park’s "Small Stage," with its own program of concerts, film screenings and other events.
In the latest chapter of the island’s story, the reclamation of The Bottle was the first commercial experience. Each floor of the building has been assigned its own purpose and function.
The first floor is given over entirely to gastronomy — here can be found both time-tested and new restaurant projects.